Avoid "file was modified" prompt

Open discussion about WinMerge.

Avoid "file was modified" prompt

Postby kalvaro » Thu Dec 06, 2018 12:37 pm

WinMerge displays a modal dialogue every time I edit in my IDE the currently compared file. I'd say this started happening after upgrading from 2.14 to to 2.16 though I may be wrong about that. Is there a way to disable this? The "Automatic rescan" setting does not seem to have anything to do with this (I believe it just refers to changes made within WinMerge).

BTW, I'm really impressed by the changes brought by WinMerge/2.16, kudos for keeping the project alive.
kalvaro
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Spain

Re: Avoid "file was modified" prompt

Postby ashmud » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:02 pm

"Me, too." This changes some of my workflow from 2.14.

I have a related change:
In 2.14, I could have changes in WinMerge, for one (left or right) or both (left and right) files.

Then I could make an external change to one of the files. If I refreshed, WinMerge would then detect the externally change file (see figure 1 below), and let me reload the externally changed file, without having to save or discard changes to the other file.

Figure 1. Change detection prompt.
Another application has updated file
(path to file)
since WinMerge scanned it last time.
Do you want to reload the file?
[Yes] [No]

In 2.16, if I try the same thing, I am forced to save or discard my changes to the file that was not externally changed.
ashmud
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:52 pm


Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests