How to compare the content of two files

Open discussion about WinMerge.

How to compare the content of two files

Postby cjstgreen » Wed Apr 08, 2020 9:15 am

Hi,
I'm an application administrator for an application named Teamcenter. I just upgraded to a new patch of the application. Prior to upgrading, I exported all preferences and then after upgrading, I exported all preferences. Now I am comparing the two exports to see what has changed, what is new, etc. The comparison view has approximately 70,000 lines.
When I'm going through the comparison, WinMerge seems to be comparing the content of each file, line-by-line and showing differences. So at first glance, when I look in the left side view, a preference name is shown and has highlighting indicating the differences to the right side. However, when I look in the right side view, the preference name is different.
For example, in the left side view, there is a preference named “Mail_server_name” that is listed on line number 10663, but on the right side it does not show up until line number 11471. At first glance, you might think that the preference is being replaced by a completely different preference.
How can I be guaranteed that identical preference names are being compared rather than comparing line-by-line? Is that possible?
Thanks,
cjstgreen
cjstgreen

Re: How to compare the content of two files

Postby christianlist » Sat Apr 18, 2020 3:38 am

Sounds like you may be looking for the IgnoreLeadingLineNumbers prediffer. See https://manual.winmerge.org/en/Plugins. ... _available
christianlist
Site Admin

Re: How to compare the content of two files

Postby jellysheep » Sun Apr 19, 2020 7:15 pm