Having a Problem Copying Files

Open discussion about WinMerge.

Having a Problem Copying Files

Postby kiwikay » Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:31 pm

Hi,

I'm new to WinMerge. I am not able to get files from one folder copied to the other folder. I have a 500 Gb external drive that I recently tried to copy onto a new hard drive as a backup, but in doing so, I got a number of messages that some file names were too long to copy so I had to skip those. Since I have no record of which files were skipped, I ran WinMerge to compare both drives. However, when I tried to copy files on the original drive to the backup drive, nothing happened. No error message, and they didn't copy over, as if I hadn't even sent the command.

When I looked inside each folder, it appears as though some additional files/folders on my original drive, but not on the backup, did not get picked up by WinMerge as missing (although I can't be sure of it, since I had to shut down my computer and what I thought I'd saved as the output of the comparison, simply runs the process again -- my computer is dragging and I don't have time to rerun this right now -- not even sure which folder to look in anyway to see if they were all identified this time).

Is this a problem related to the long file name? Is there a way to automatically copy the files creating new folders with shorter names, so I don't completely lose my file structure?

Also, will I be able to run WinMerge to find duplicates within a single drive/folder so I can eliminate duplicate backups?

Thanks for any help on this.
kiwikay

Re: Having a Problem Copying Files

Postby jtuc » Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:46 am

kiwikay wrote:Is this a problem related to the long file name?
Yes.
kiwikay wrote:Is there a way to automatically copy the files creating new folders with shorter names, so I don't completely lose my file structure?
Not to my knowledge. But FastCopy (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FastCopy) should be able to copy your folder trees.